New Year…New Me?

Posted: January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

A coworker and I launched a “Biggest Loser” type competition at work to help motivate those individuals to shed those unwanted pounds.  As for myself, I have a little more than a “few” pounds to shed but I am working hard towards that goal.  Last week I lost 7.5 pounds and I have never felt as motivated to lose weight as I do right now.  I want to do it so I can look in the mirror without staring down a litany of things I hate.  I also realized staring myself down that perhaps I should stop hating parts of my body and put more effort into changing it.

That, I believe, is the problem with losing weight.  If I go to the gym consistently, track my food and exercise through http://www.myfitnesspal.com (a great site for managing what you put into your body), and set short obtainable goals, I will lose weight.  However, I need to stop staring myself down in the mirror and expect to see the weight to vanish from the areas I detest.  Today, I came home from the gym and changed out of my soaked gym clothes.  I looked in the mirror and instead of staring down my man boobs, I noticed that my shoulders are showing definition.  There I realized that instead of staring down what I hated, I could admire that I have already started to change how my body looks in some areas.

I would not presume to share techniques and what’s worked for me with only 7.5 pounds lost.  I will, however, share the mindset that I have adopted.  Enjoy yourself for it is the only self whose shoes you will ever get to walk in.  If it is weight you want to lose, then you must be willing to walk in those shoes more.  When those shoes carry you to the fridge, realize that what you put into that fridge is absolutely a reflection of who you are as an individual.  If you see the makings of a fraternity refrigerator and the only thing staring back that looks like a piece of fruit is the mandarin in your orange flavored vodka, then the decision is easy to make.  I said the “decision” is easy to make.  The hard part is testing your own constitution, defying your own odds and your own perception of self.  If you’re like me, then you look at your children and realize the older they get, the longer you want to be around them, not just around FOR them.

I think it’s time to start making changes for myself and if they affect those around me, so be it!  I’m not giving up and this blog is as much for myself as it is for anyone else.  We can all do it; the trick to success is establishing a mindset that declares war on old habits and complacency!

 

Leave a Reply

